Yorkshire East Riding

The East Riding of Yorkshire was one of three ridings alongside the North Riding and West Riding, which were constituent parts a Yorkshire ceremonial and administrative county until 1974. The separate Lieutenancy for the riding was established after the Restoration, and the ridings each had separate Quarter Sessions. From 1974 to 1996 the area of the modern East Riding of Yorkshire constituted the northern part of Humberside. As a ceremonial county, the East Riding of Yorkshire borders North Yorkshire, South Yorkshire and Lincolnshire, and includes the city of Kingston upon Hull, which is a separate unitary authority. As a district it borders North East Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire, Hull, Doncaster, Selby, York, Ryedale and Scarborough.

Unlike most counties in Great Britain, which were divided anciently into hundreds, Yorkshire was divided first into three ridings and then into numerous wapentakes within each riding. It should be noted that the ancient wapentake system is not used in the modern day, though it is an important part of Yorkshire's cultural heritage. Within the East Riding of Yorkshire there were seven wapentakes. The East Riding's only large town is Kingston upon Hull, a major port, which stands on the River Hull at its junction with the Humber estuary.

The materials for the East Riding provided on Hearth Tax Online are all in draft format and are made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Creative Commons License

If you use any of these materials you should cite: The Centre for Hearth Tax Research, University of Roehampton.